Great Lakes Fishery CommissionGreat Lakes Fishery Commissionabout usmeeting schedule
Protecting Our Fishery
Sea Lamprey ControlFish ManagementScience ProgramLake CommitteesPublications & LinksMultimedia RoomBoards & Committees

Nominate Someone Today!

The Great Lakes Fishery Commission believes strongly that those who take extraordinary action to protect our natural resources deserve to be recognized. For that reason, the commission is pleased to present three annual awards to honour individuals who have demonstrated uncommon commitment to the principles that guide successful Great Lakes resource management. The three awards are:

  • The Jack Christie/Ken H. Loftus Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions toward Understanding Healthy Great Lakes Ecosystems
Description and Criteria
Nominate someone for Christie/Loftus award:
  • The Vernon C. Applegate Award for Outstanding Contributions to Sea Lamprey Control
Description and Criteria
Nominate someone for the Vernon C. Applegate award:
  • The Carroll D. "Buzz" Besadny Award for Fostering Great Lakes Partnerships
Description and Criteria
Nominate someone for Carroll D. "Buzz Besadny" award:
We welcome your nominations!

Nominations must be submitted by November 14, 2016 for the year 2017 annual award. Recipients of the GLFC awards will be honored publicly during the commission’s annual meeting and will be presented with a framed certificate. Each recipient will have his or her name engraved on a permanent plaque to be displayed at the GLFC Secretariat.

Previous Award Recipients

GLFC Interactive Video
Great Lakes Image Gallery





Photo of fish eggs Photo: American Fisheries Society